Jesus’ chosen way of gifting His life of grace to us for all time.

Christ instituted the sacraments of the new law.

There are seven:

  • Anointing of the Sick
  • Baptism
  • Confirmation
  • Holy Eucharist
  • Holy Orders
  • Matrimony
  • Penance

The seven sacraments touch all the stages and all the important moments of Christian life: they give birth and increase, healing and mission to the Christian’s life of faith.

There is thus a certain resemblance between the stages of natural life and the stages of the spiritual life." (Catechism of the Catholic Church, 1210.)